Beating the Bias Trap (Additional Resources)

BeatingBiasTrapLogoWhen I attend presentations of various sorts, I am often frustrated in that I want to try to take in and engage with what is being presented but I also want to take careful notes, especially with respect to direct sources. I also want to be able to check these and other related sources out for myself, both to “check the work” and to gain further understanding. Since I am presenting “Beating the Bias Trap” at FPA – NorCal in San Francisco on Tuesday, what follows is my list of direct sources and other materials relating to my subject. My goal is to help attendees get the most out of my presentation as possible. The list and its topics generally follow the order of my presentation. I trust that attendees will find it useful and that others interested in the subject will find some helpful materials.

Homo Economicus is a Myth

Checkershadow Illusion (MIT)

False Memories

Placebos: Benedetti, Maggi, Lopiano, Lanotte, Rainero, Vighetti & Pollo, Open versus hidden medical treatments: The patient’s knowledge about a therapy affects the therapy outcome

The Math Problem

The Behavior Gap

We See What We Expect to See

Clan and Team Loyalty

Pattern-Seeking

Optimism Bias

Risk Aversion

Bias Blindness

The Narrative Fallacy

Smart People are More Susceptible to Bias

Improving Decision-Making Odds

Focus on Process

Long-Term Thinking

Critical Thinking

Data-Driven Investing

Focus on What Doesn’t Work

Aligned Interests

Being Methodical

Pre-Mortem

Accountability

Collaboration

Red Team

Key Questions

  • How might I be wrong?
  • Have I considered the strongest renderings and arguments of opposing viewpoints?
  • Have I given opposing views a fair hearing?
  • Have I checked and re-checked my work, data and assumptions?
  • What does the available data say and suggest?
  • What would it take to convince myself otherwise?
  • What do I have to gain (or lose) by changing my mind?
  • What do the (other) experts say?
  • What do I see/know/get that those who disagree with me don’t?
  • What’s in it for me?
  • What’s in it for them?
  • What do my best and smartest colleagues (friends) say?
  • Have I considered the most generous versions of opposing arguments?
  • Can I argue the other side effectively?
  • Do I fully understand the most powerful elements of opposing viewpoints? HINT: If you think those who think otherwise are stupid, delusional or evil, you probably don’t.

The Semmelweis Reflex

1 thought on “Beating the Bias Trap (Additional Resources)

Leave a comment